MENU

DONATE TODAY!
You Could WIN from
OVER $165,000 in
Knives, Guns & More!

DOUBLE Your Chances to WIN! DONATE NOW and ALSO be in TAIL END BONUS DRAWING
OVER $25K in BONUS PRIZES!

Tail End Bonus Countdown: 

Void where prohibited.

UPDATE: Automatic (Switchblade) Knives & Carry Over 4-inches Now Legal in Tennessee

Knife Rights would like to recognize our two bills’ sponsors, Senator Mike Bell and Representative Vance Dennis, for their hard work over two years reforming knife law in Tennessee. Knife Rights would also like to recognize Smoky Mountain Knife Works and Taylor Brands whose generous support helped Knife Rights create a Sharper Future™ for their fellow Tennesseans

Tennessee is the 7th state in which Knife Rights has repealed a ban on switchblades and other knives. This makes 18 legislative victories by Knife Rights in just over four years, including defeating four anti-knife bills. Knife Rights has passed 14 pro-knife bills in 11 states. Knife Rights is rewriting knife law in America™!



Tennessee Governor Bill Haslam has signed SB1771, Knife Rights’ bill repealing the state’s antiquated ban on switchblade (automatic) knives and possession of knives over four inches in length “with intent to go armed,” a vague law subject to abusive interpretation. As of July 1, 2014, there are no longer any per se illegal knives in Tennessee.

Last year Knife Rights passed Knife Law Preemption in Tennessee ensuring that no local jurisdiction can have regulations more restrictive than state law. This means that existing restrictions that banned automatic knives or limited blade length in some cities are now rendered null and void and they cannot pass any new laws banning certain knives.

WARNING: This new law does not go into effect until July 1, 2014. Violations of existing law banning switchblades (automatic) knives and carry of knives over four inches in length “with intent to go armed” can still be prosecuted until that date.

Tennessee is the 7th state in which Knife Rights has repealed a ban on switchblades and other knives. This makes 17 legislative victories by Knife Rights in just over four years, including defeating four anti-knife bills. Knife Rights has passed 13 pro-knife bills in 11 states. Knife Rights is rewriting knife law in America™!

Thanks to all who called or emailed in support of this effort. Your calls and emails were critical to passage of this bill. Knife Rights would also like to thank our sponsors, Senator Mike Bell and Representative Vance Dennis, for their hard work over two years reforming knife law in Tennessee.

Knife Rights would like to recognize Smoky Mountain Knife Works and Taylor Brands whose generous support helped Knife Rights create a Sharper Future™ for their fellow Tennesseans.


March 24, 2014: After a lot of work in Nashville by Knife Rights and our friends, SB1771 was passed by an overwhelming majority in the House, 75-16-2. It now moves to the Governor for his consideration.

SB1771 would repeal the antiquated ban on switchblade (automatic) knives and possession of knives over four inches in length “with intent to go armed,” a vague law subject to abuse.

If you live, work or travel in Tennessee, please CALL or EMAIL Governor Bill Haslam and ask him to sign SB1771.

Phone: 615-741-2001 / Email: bill.haslam@state.tn.us

Whether writing or calling, all that is necessary is to simply ask the Governor to sign SB1771. That’s it, keep it short and to the point.


March 19, 2014: After a lot of work in Nashville by Knife Rights and our friends, HB1883 was passed out of the the House Finance, Ways and Means Committee on a voice vote without objection. It now moves to the full House for a vote. The companion bill, SB1771 has already passed the Senate.

HB1883 would repeal the antiquated ban on switchblade (automatic) knives and possession of knives over four inches in length “with intent to go armed,” a vague law subject to abuse.

If you live, work or travel in Tennessee, please contact your Representative and ask them to vote in favor of SB1771. You can find your Representative here: http://www.capitol.tn.gov/legislators/

Whether writing or calling, all that is necessary is to simply ask your Representative to vote in favor of HB1883. That’s it, keep it short and to the point.


March 12, 2014: The Tennessee House Finance, Ways & Means Subcommittee has passed HB1883 on a voice vote. HB1883 now moves to the full House Finance, Ways & Means Committee. We need you to EMAIL or CALL the committee members TODAY! HB1883 is the companion bill to SB1771 and would repeal the antiquated ban on switchblade (automatic) knives and possession of knives over four inches in length “with intent to go armed,” a vague law subject to abuse.


If you live, work or travel in Tennessee, please contact the Committee Members listed below and ask them to vote in favor of HB1883.
If one of them is your Representative, then emphasize that fact when you call or email. You can find your Representative here: http://www.capitol.tn.gov/legislators/

Whether writing or calling, all that is necessary is to simply ask that they vote YES on HB1883. That’s it, keep it short and to the point.

Rep. Charles Sargent, Chairman – rep.charles.sargent@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-6808
Rep. David Alexander – Vice Chairmanrep.david.alexander@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-8695
Rep. Joe Armstrong – rep.joe.armstrong@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-0768
Rep. Kevin Brooks – rep.kevin.brooks@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-1350
Rep. Kent Calfee – rep.kent.calfee@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-7658
Rep. Karen D. Camper – rep.karen.camper@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-1898
Rep. Mike Carter – rep.mike.carter@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-3025
Rep. Barbara Cooper – rep.barbara.cooper@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-4295
Rep, Craig Fitzhugh – rep.craig.fitzhugh@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-2134
Rep. Steve Hall – rep.steve.hall@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-2287
Rep. David Hawk – rep.david.hawk@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-7482
Rep. Matthew Hill – rep.matthew.hill@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-2251
Rep. Curtis Johnson – rep.curtis.johnson@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-4341
Rep. Gerald McCormick – rep.gerald.mccormick@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-2548
Rep. Steve McDaniel – rep.steve.mcdaniel@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-0750
Rep. Larry J. Miller – rep.larry.miller@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-4453
Rep. Gary Odom – rep.gary.odom@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-4410
Rep. Dennis Roach – rep.dennis.roach@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-2534
Rep. Johnny Shaw – rep.johnny.shaw@capitol.tn.gov 615-741-4538

CLICK Here for Bulk Email List

or Copy and Paste from list below:

rep.charles.sargent@capitol.tn.gov; rep.david.alexander@capitol.tn.gov; rep.joe.armstrong@capitol.tn.gov; rep.kevin.brooks@capitol.tn.gov; rep.kent.calfee@capitol.tn.gov; rep.karen.camper@capitol.tn.gov; rep.mike.carter@capitol.tn.gov; rep.barbara.cooper@capitol.tn.gov; rep.craig.fitzhugh@capitol.tn.gov; rep.steve.hall@capitol.tn.gov; rep.mike.harrison@capitol.tn.gov; rep.david.hawk@capitol.tn.gov; rep.matthew.hill@capitol.tn.gov; rep.curtis.johnson@capitol.tn.gov; rep.gerald.mccormick@capitol.tn.gov; rep.steve.mcdaniel@capitol.tn.gov; rep.larry.miller@capitol.tn.gov; rep.gary.odom@capitol.tn.gov; rep.dennis.roach@capitol.tn.gov; rep.dennis.roach@capitol.tn.gov; rep.johnny.shaw@capitol.tn.gov


Feb. 26, 2014: The Tennessee House Criminal Justice Committee has passed HB1883 on a voice vote. HB1883 now moves to the critical House Finance, Ways & Means Subcommittee. We need you to EMAIL or CALL the subcommittee members TODAY! HB1883 is the companion bill to SB1771 and would repeal the antiquated ban on switchblade (automatic) knives and possession of knives over four inches in length “with intent to go armed,” a vague law subject to abuse.


Feb. 13, 2014: The Tennessee House Criminal Justice Subcommittee will hear HB1883 on Tuesday, February 18. With the holiday, we need you to EMAIL or CALL TODAY! HB1883 is the companion bill to SB1771 and would repeal the antiquated ban on switchblade (automatic) knives and possession of knives over four inches in length “with intent to go armed,” a vague law subject to abuse.

If you live, work or travel in Tennessee, please contact the Subcommittee Members listed below and ask them to vote in favor of HB1883. If one of them is your Representative, then emphasize that fact when you call or email. You can find your Representative here: http://www.capitol.tn.gov/legislators/

Whether writing or calling, all that is necessary is to simply ask that they vote YES on HB1883. That’s it, keep it short and to the point.

Chairman Rep. Tony Shipley (615) 741-2886 rep.tony.shipley@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Eric Watson (615) 741-7799 rep.eric.watson@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Jeremy Faison (615) 741-6871 rep.jeremy.faison@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Raumesh Akbari (615) 741-3830 rep.raumesh.akbari@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. G.A. Hardaway (615) 741-5625 rep.ga.hardaway@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. William Lamberth (615) 741-1980 rep.william.lamberth@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Antonio Parkinson (615) 741-4575 rep.antonio.parkinson@capitol.tn.gov
Rep. Micah Van Huss (615) 741-1717 rep.james.vanhuss@capitol.tn.gov


Feb. 11, 2014: By a vote of 6-1 with 1 abstention, SB1771 was voted out of the Senate Judiciary Committee and passed along to the Calendar Committee. SB1771 would repeal the antiquated ban on switchblade (automatic) knives and possession of knives over four inches in length “with intent to go armed,” a vague law subject to abuse.

Sen. Mike Bell, SB171 sponsor, expects the floor vote to to be held next week, possibly as soon as Monday. If you live, work or travel in Tennessee, please contact your Senator and ask them to support SB1771. You can find your Tennessee state legislators here: http://www.capitol.tn.gov/legislators/

Whether writing or calling, all that is necessary is to simply ask your Senator to vote in favor of SB1771. Keep it short and to the point.