On September 16th Knife Rights participated in a lobby day on Capitol Hill, along with representatives of the American Knife and Tool Institute, the NRA and the Congressional Sportsmen Foundation. Representing Knife Rights were Doug Ritter, Pete Brownell and Jason Kunkler (from While it was an exhausting, and at times frustrating, experience, it was clearly beneficial that House Committee and Member staff heard from us why it was so important to retain the Senate Amendment 1447 in the final Homeland Security Appropriations bill. I am confident that had we not made this effort, we might not succeed in the end.

As for that, we are all still waiting. We remain cautiously optimistic, but it isn’t a done deal by any means.

Today, House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (D-MD) indicated on the floor that he hoped to have the DHS Appropriations Conference Committee report on the House floor next Thursday. That is no guarantee, but at least gives notice of what they are aiming for.

Also today, the Speaker of the House appointed House Conferees for the DHS Appropriations bill.

If any of the Representatives below represent your district or you are from their state, please contact them immediately and ask them for their support to keep Senate Amendment 1447 in the final bill. If you operate a business that is involved in the knife industry or if knives are an integral part of your business’ or employee’s operations or activities, tell them that this amendment protecting assisted opening knives is critical to your business. Keep your call POLITE, SHORT and TO THE POINT! Do NOT ramble, do NOT discuss any other issues. This call should take no more than a minute or two, total, except for any time on hold. If you cannot follow these simple rules, please don’t call. Again, keep your call POLITE, SHORT and TO THE POINT!

At this point, PHONE Calls are BEST, FAX next, emails last. You can call their local district office; you don’t necessarily have to contact the D.C. office.

Click on your Representative below to go to their web site with their phone numbers:

DHS Appropriations Committee Conferees:

Ken Calvert (R-44th)
Sam Farr (D-17th)
Jerry Lewis (R-41st)
Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-34th)
Mark Steven Kirk (R-10th)
Harold Rogers (R-5th)
C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger (D-2nd)
New Jersey:
Steven R. Rothman (D-9th)

New York:
Nita M. Lowey (D-18th)
Jose E. Serrano (D-16th)
North Carolina:
David E. Price (D-4th)
John R. Carter (R-31st)
John Abney Culberson (R-7th)
Ciro Rodriguez (D-23rd)
West Virginia:
Alan B. Mollohan (D-1st)
David R. Obey (D-7th)